Weekend Again- My Top 10 TV Shows

Hey guys! ‘Weekend Again’ are weekly posts of my Top 5s or Top 10s. The topic for this weekend is ‘My Top 10 TV shows’. Actually, I had lots of ideas this time and it took me about half an hour to finally settle on this topic!

                                                        MY TOP 10 TV SHOWS

(To be clear, this list excludes sitcoms like Friends and How I Met Your Mother. I will post a sitcom one some other time.)

1.SHERLOCK

If you haven’t seen Sherlock, you seriously have a death wish. It is loosely based on Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s Sherlock Holmes novels and short stories. The BBC show is basically a modernization of the original stories which were set in the Victorian era.It has the power to get you hooked onto your screen for hours! It never gets boring. The soundtrack is amazing too. The theme that starts to build up after a few episodes is a bit dark. We get to know the other side of Sherlock. ‘The Reichenbach Fall’ from season 2 and ‘His Last Vow’ from season 3 are my favorite episodes, because they are much more than what meets the eye. Also, the performances of Benedict Cumberbatch(Sherlock), Martin Freeman(John), Andrew Scott(Moriarty) and Amanda Abbington(Mary) are just marvelous. Go,watch it already!

wa1

2. BREAKING BAD

So, this is the story of Walter White, a chemistry teacher, who finds out that he has cancer. He gets involved in the meth-making business so as to repay his medical debts. But, his priorities begin to change when he partners up with his ex-student Jesse Pinkman. It features the story of a simple and ethical man (Walter), whose circumstances bring a change in him. Bryan Cranston and Aaron Paul as Walter and Jesse respectively, have done a tremendous job with their characters. I absolutely love the concept and the theme song.

wabb

3.EPISODES

Follows the story of Sean and Beverly, a happily married couple, who move to LA to remake their British show Lyman’s Boys for an American audience. But, the plan turns out to be full of obstacles when the network starts pressurizing them to cast Matt LeBlanc as the lead. Matt LeBlanc stars in ‘Episodes’ as a fictionalized version of himself, and that’s what makes the show brilliant. Tamsin Greig (Beverly), Steven Mangan(Sean) and John Pankow(Merc) also deliver amazing performances. This show neither lacks in comedy, nor in occasional drama.

episodes

4. HOUSE

Dr.Gregory House is basically Sherlock in a medical field. He is a cranky yet brilliant doctor, who leads his medical team to solve strange cases and save lives. I normally don’t have an interest in medical related shows, but this is something else! Even though I don’t understand most of what is happening and the big medical terms and all, I never get bored of Hugh Laurie as House. House and Dr.Cuddy’s conversations are the best! Although, sometimes it gets a little repetitive. But that reason barely means me not watching the next episode!

house-md

5. RED BAND SOCIETY

You might not have heard of this as it is very rare. This show only has one season and that too with only 13 episodes. The network cancelled it because it had very low television ratings. But I LOVE this show. It is a medical-comedy-drama series about a group of teenagers living in a hospital as patients and dealing with their problems. They are struggling to be just children, instead of those children who are forced to act like adults.They seek companionship and support in each other. It reminds us that no matter what life throws at you, be strong and courageous. Live today, instead of worrying about tomorrow.

red-band-society

6. SUITS

This list means nothing without Harvey Specter and Mike Ross! ‘Suits’ is a legal-drama series. I started watching it like a month ago because someone recommended it to me. And I thank that person! Mike is a talented young college dropout, who is hired by Harvey, one of New York’s best lawyers to solve cases. I love the way Mike constantly proves Harvey that he is actually very smart! And Donna….that woman! The show is nothing without her.

.suits

7.THE SIMPSONS

I know I said that I wouldn’t include sitcoms, but in my defense, it is an animated sitcom. Now, I didn’t say anything about not including animated sitcoms,did I?! It is a satirical comedy. It follows the life of Homer Simpson and his dysfunctional family, which comes across bizarre situations in their home town of Springfield. The concept is so very different and appealing. My favorite character is Lisa Simpson. This show is a must-watch!

the-simpsons

8. DOCTOR WHO

You might be a little surprised that Doctor Who is sitting at the eighth place! But I have just started watching it! I am quite sure that it would move up in my rankings after some time. Yes, I know I had been missing out a lot and Whovians might be screaming at me right now..But as I said, I have just started with it. But I am already in love with The Doctor and his Tardis!

doctor-who

9. MONK

‘Monk’ is a comedy-detective type show. After a tragic incident, Adrian Monk develops obsessive compulsive disorder, which constantly disturbs him in his everyday life. But he is a brilliant detective. Earlier, Sharona used to be his assistant. But in the later seasons, she gets replaced by Natalie. And I must admit, I liked Sharona more than Natalie! Time to time, we get to see the other side of Monk too. We learn that Monk is actually very disturbed. Monk’s OCD is a constant source of comic relief though!

monk

10. WEB THERAPY

The series is about Fiona Wallace, a therapist who has started with a new therapy called ‘web therapy’ where she proposes that she could get results from patients more quickly over the internet. Fiona is played by Lisa Kudrow, better known as Phoebe Buffay from the show ‘Friends’. She is a narcissist and is delusional. I love Lisa’s acting in this show. Although, I must say that this show is not that of a must-watch either. It can get a bit boring at times. But besides that factor, I like it. I like it because it is very different from other shows. Fiona is a very impatient woman, thus the tagline of the show reads’ Therapy with no patience’! And this is the irony of Fiona Wallace and the show.She doesn’t have any traits of a therapist and I think that she herself needs a good therapy!

web-therapy

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

